I haven’t been writing as frequently as I ought to, but in a concerted effort to continue documenting my travels, I wanted to post something before going to Thailand this evening.

Tonight, at 5:30, I’ll be heading to Chiang Mai for my first time in Thailand. As with any trip, it’s difficult to describe the mix of emotions I have prior to departure. Here are a few of my thoughts –

First, this is my first trip to Thailand. A lot of my colleagues and friends have already been, everyone loved it. When discussing with frequent travelers, they all comment about their frequent trips to Thailand and always note Chiang Mai, where I’m going, is their favorite. It’s hard to believe a small city in the mountainous north is everyone’s favorite, but it is. What the city lacks in beaches, it makes up for in culture and food. To sum all of this up, the destination is awesome.

Secondly, it’s great to be traveling again. As snobby as it sounds, since I was just in Vietnam a few weeks ago, I’ve missed traveling. I’ve posted this numerous times before, but traveling is addictive and I am hooked. Just the thought of walking through a new city in southeast Asia is enough to get me excited, I’m sure this will flow over into my posts while I’m there.

Thirdly, I have some great new gear I’ve been dying to try out. New backpack, net shoes, new hats, new shorts, and some new t-shirts. Safe to say I’m over prepared for a three day trip. During and after, I’ll post some updates on the gear quality and let you know if it lived up to my expectations.

In closure, the amount of boat noodles I’m going to eat tonight could feed a bus full of children. Thailand, here I come.

